Solar System Fill in the Blank.doc Solar System Fill in the Blank.doc
Size : 54.5 Kb
Type : doc

Our Solar System
Our solar system consists of the sun, planets, dwarf planets (or plutoids), moons, an asteroid belt, comets, meteors, and other objects. The sun is the center of our solar system; the planets, over 61 moons, the asteroidscometsmeteoroids and other rocks and gas all orbit the Sun. The Earth is the third planet from the sun in our solar system. 

The Planets
The nine planets that orbit the sun are (in order from the Sun): MercuryVenusEarthMarsJupiter (the biggest planet in our Solar System), Saturn (with large, orbiting rings), UranusNeptune, and Pluto (a dwarf planet or plutoid). A belt of asteroids (minor planets made of rock and metal) orbits between Mars and Jupiter. 

These objects all orbit the sun in roughly circular orbits that lie in the same plane, the ecliptic (Pluto is an exception; this dwarf planet has an elliptical orbit tilted over 17° from the ecliptic). 

The inner planets (those planets that orbit close to the Sun) are quite different from the 

outer planets (those planets that orbit far from the Sun).

  • The inner planets are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. They are relatively small, composed mostly of rock, and have few or no moons.
  • The outer planets include: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. They are mostly huge, mostly gaseous, ringed, and have many moons (plus Pluto, which is a dwarf planet that has one large moon and two small moons).

In this Web Quest you will learn about Solar Wind. Click here: Solar Wind 

Here you will create your own solar system.  Click here to learn more about the Solar System. 

Click here: Create Your Own Solar System

Click Here to Create your Own Planet.